About AHRI

The Association of Human Rights Institutes – AHRI, consists of 75 member institutions – and growing – that carry out research and education in the field of human rights across every continent. The objective of AHRI is to promote research, education and discussion in the field of human rights.

The AHRI Co-operation Agreement  was signed in Reykjavik 22 September 2000. Bjarney Friðriksdóttir, former Director of the Icelandic Human Rights Center, was elected as AHRI’s first Chair. The Netherlands Institute of Human Rights accepted to host the Secretariat with Peter Malcontent as Executive Secretary.

The Constitution for the Association of Human Rights Institutes (AHRI) was amended by the AHRI Assembly 28 April 2017.

In 2020, AHRI was incorporated as an international association (under Belgian law): Articles of Association.

Read the Articles of Association Here. 

English translation AHRI Articles of Incorporation